The Real Mary King's Close

En dessous de royal mile se cache le secret d'Edimbourg le plus profond- un grand nombre de ruelles cachées où les vrais gens ont habité, travaillé et sont morts dans les siècles passés.

Mary King's Close consiste en un nombre de plusieurs ruelles ou des rues réduites avec des maisons de chaque côtés, jusqu'à sept étages de haut. En 1753, le Conseil d'Edimbourg a décidé de concevoir un nouveau bâtiment sur ce site, "the Royal Exchange" (qui est maintenant "the City Chambers"). Les maisons de "High Street" ont été démolies et la partie des sections les plus basses ont été gardée et ont été utilisée comme les fondations pour le nouvel "Royal Exchange". Certaines ruelles ont été laissé sous le bâtiment, l'obscurité et les demeures anciennes a trempé avec le mystère.

 

Pendant votre visite sur "The Real Mary King's Close", vous ferez l'expérience des hauts et bas niveaux de vie du seizième siècle, apprendrez la vérité sur la façon dont le Conseil d'Edimbourg a traité le fléau de l'épidémie de 1644- 1646 et verrez certains des meilleurs exemples de logement en Ecosse au dix-septième siècle. Vous pourrez regarder l'atelier du fabricant; surveiller vos garde au cas ou vous pourriez apercevoir le fantôme de Mary King elle même.

 

 

Retournant au jour moderne, notre boutique de souvenirs offre un historique rempli et des souvenirs d'Edimbourg, y compris les livres de l'histoire d'Edimbourg, des reproductions de bijoux du 17e siècle et les caractères de verrerie et souvenir de Marie King's Close.

Translated by Aline Decouzon

 facilities  location  edinburgh  links   edinburgh-castle   

Edinburgh bed and breakfast      - Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Accommodation


welcome
spacer
facilities
spacer4
location
spacer4
edinburgh
spacer8
 
spacer9
edinburgh bed and breakfast  links
spacer9
spacer4A
edinburgh bed and breakfast email

edinburgh accommodation
edinburgh bed and breakfast picture edinburgh emain
Bed and Breakfast
AVERON
EDINBURGH
logo4
rac logo

Edinburgh...
 

The Real Mary King's Close

Beneath the royal mile lies Edinburgh's deepest secret- a warren of hidden closes where real people lived, worked and died in bygone centuries.

 

Mary King’s Close consists of a number of closes or narrow streets with houses on both sides, up to seven storeys high. In 1753, the Edinburgh Council decided to design a new building on this site, the Royal Exchange (which is now now the City Chambers). The houses at the High Street of the closes were demolished and part of the lower sections were kept and used as the foundations for the new Royal Exchange. The remnants of the closes were left under the building, dark and ancient dwellings steeped with mystery.

 

 

During your tour of The Real Mary King's Close, you will experience the highs and the lows of sixteenth- century living, learn the truth about how the Edinburgh Council dealt with the plague epidemic of 1644- 1646 and see some of the best examples of seventeenth- century housing in Scotland. you can look inside the sawmaker's workshop as you walk centuries- old footsteps along Mary's King's Close; keep a look out as you may catch a glimpse of the ghost of Mary King herself.

 

 

Returning to modern day, our gift shop offers a full ange of historic and Edinburgh souvenirs, including books about Edinburgh's history, replica 17th-century jewellery and glassware and souvenir prints of Mary King's Close.

 

 

 


 

 


 



edinburgh  skyline
 
 


spacer
spacer4
spacer4
spacer8
 
spacer9